Barcelona's Messi wins 2012 Fifa Ballon d'Or

Barcelona's Messi wins 2012 Fifa Ballon d'Or
2.5 5

Published January 7th, 2013 - 23:39 GMT via

Rate Article:

PRINT Send Mail
comment (0)
Lionel Messi wins 2012 Fifa Ballon d'Or
Lionel Messi wins 2012 Fifa Ballon d'Or
Follow >
Click here to add Andrés Iniesta as an alert
Andrés Iniesta
Click here to add Barcelona as an alert
Click here to add Bayer as an alert
Click here to add Champions League as an alert
Champions League
Click here to add Cristiano Ronaldo as an alert
Cristiano Ronaldo
Click here to add Espanyol as an alert
Click here to add FIFA as an alert
Click here to add Johan Cruyff as an alert
Johan Cruyff
Click here to add Lionel Messi as an alert
Lionel Messi
Click here to add Marco van Basten as an alert
Marco van Basten
Click here to add Michel Platini as an alert
Michel Platini
Click here to add Primera Division as an alert
Primera Division
Click here to add Valencia as an alert

Lionel Messi has won the 2012 Fifa Ballon d'Or ahead of Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo and Barcelona team-mate Andres Iniesta.

The Argentine attacker becomes the first player in history to win the Ballon d'Or four times in succession. He previously shared the record of three consecutive victories with Michel Platini, while Dutch duo Johan Cruyff and Marco van Basten also won the prize three times.

Messi was unable to help Barcelona to the Liga title in 2011-12 as Real Madrid emerged victorious, while they were eliminated in the semi-finals of the Champions League, yet Messi's brilliance was enough to help him to individual glory.

The recognition comes after a year in which the 25-year-old broke numerous records, including the most goals scored in a calendar year.

Messi netted an astonishing 91 strikes over the course of 2012 to crush Gerd Muller's previous record of 85 goals in a year, scoring 79 for Barcelona and 12 more for Argentina.

One of the highlights for the prolific attacker was his display in the 7-1 Champions League thrashing of Bayer Leverkusen as he found the net five times. Additionally, Messi scored four in the Primera Division wins over Valencia and Espanyol.

Cristiano Ronaldo missed out in the voting after steering Real Madrid to the Liga title with a string of fine performances, and impressing at Euro 2012 as he guided Portugal to the semi-finals of the competition.

Iniesta had to settle for a podium spot after winning the Copa del Rey with Barcelona, and successfully defending the European title with Spain.

Copyright © 2009 All rights reserved.

Add a new comment