Alexandria Film Festival Honors Hussein Riyadh

Published September 10th, 2000 - 02:00 GMT

As well as honoring Hussein Riyad, the festival’s administration also said that they will honor actress Yusra, Egyptian director Ashraf Fahmy, and screenwriter Mahmoud Abu Zaid. 

According to the MENA news agency, Egyptian actor Nour El Sharif will represent the late Riyadh because none of Riyadh’s family members are currently living in Egypt. 

Meanwhile, some major changes will take place in this year’s Alexandria Film Festival. The three main movies which will open the event and represent the entries for the International Award, First Award and Panorama Award, will not be shown at hotels, but will be presented instead at movie theaters participating in the festival. 

Another innovative change is that the festival’s administration has decided to grant financial prizes worth 100,00 Egyptian pounds to the best Egyptian film. 

Some actors have decided to donate money to other promising presentations. 

Mahmoud Himeida has given the festival 30,000 Egyptian pounds (EP), Mohammad Taj Eddine Shalaby has donated 20,000EP, while Samira Ahmad has donated 10,000EP. 

Eleven movies are included in this year’s Panorama Award. Actress Samiha Ayoub heads the Panorama Award Committee, whose members include director Said Marzouq, Muhsen Ahmad and Mohammad Azb. 

Besides Egypt, seven other countries have participated in the official International Award, including Italy’s Man Yakhaf El Thi’ib (Who is Scared of the Wolf), Turkey’s Ghuyoum Mayou (May’s Clouds), Greece’s Ward Al Buheira (The Sea’s Flowers), Syria’s Al Muraby (The Loan Shark), Lebanon’s Taif El Madina (Spirit of the City), Spain’s Suluk Tabi’I (Natural Behavior) and Morroco’s Ali Rabi’a Wal Akhareen (Ali Rabi’a and the Others) 

© 2000 Al Bawaba (

You may also like