Aussie Pair Win International Cricket Awards

Published July 4th, 2000 - 02:00 GMT

Fast bowlers Glenn McGrath and Brett Lee completed an Australian double at the International Cricketer of the Year awards at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London. 

McGrath headed a list that included New Zealander Chris Cairns, Ricky Ponting of Australia, South African duo Lance Klusener and Shaun Pollock as well as India's Sachin Tendulkar. 

Newcomer Lee, who took seven wickets on his test debut against India in December, was voted the International Young Cricketer of the Year. 

Federation of International Cricketers' Associations president Barry Richards said: "Glenn McGrath is a wonderful cricketer at the peak of his powers and Brett Lee is a young man representing a new generation of exciting fast bowlers. 

"The awards are a testament to their stature in the world of cricket and they are both worthy winners." 

Other awards went to record wicket-taker Courtney Walsh, who won the Wisden International Moment in History 2000 award, and Malcolm Marshall who was posthumously awarded the Regus International Special Merit Award. 

Five cricketers were also inducted into the Hall of Fame on Monday night. 

They were: England legend Graham Gooch, former Yorkshire and England all-rounder Wilfred Rhodes, explosive West Indian bowler Andy Roberts, ex-Australian skipper Ian Chappell and former Kent batsman Frank Woolley - (AFP) 

© 2000 Al Bawaba (

You may also like