Indosat Announces Changes To The Board Of Commissioners

Published January 28th, 2010 - 01:50 GMT

An Extraordinary General Meeting (“EGM”) was held today during which shareholders approved changes to the composition of the Company’s Board of Commissioners (“BOC”), changes to the composition of the Company’s Board of Directors (“BOD”) and amendments to the Company’s Articles of Association.

The following individuals have been appointed to the BOC: Mr Chris Kanter, the Chairman and Founder of Sigma Sembada Group and Mr Alexander Rusli, a Commissioner of PT Krakatau Steel and the former expert staff to the Minister and Ministry of State-Owned Enterprises and expert staff to the Minister and Ministry of Communication and Information Technology.

Leaving the BOC are Mr Michael Latimer and Mr Setyanto P. Santosa, who have stepped down in order to pursue different business interests.

H.E. Sheikh Abdullah Bin Saud Al-Thani, President of the Board of Commissioners said: “We express our sincerest gratitude to Mr Setyanto P Santosa, whose long and dedicated service as a Commissioner has been instrumental in the development of Indosat’s business. We are also very grateful to Mr Michael Latimer, whose service as a Commissioner helped navigate the Company through a complex transition period. We wish both of them every success in their future pursuits.

The BOC welcomes Mr Chris Kanter and Mr Alexander Rusli, who both bring a wealth and breadth of experience and expertise to the role and whom we are confident will be central in developing the future growth of the Company.”

As a result of the EGM, Indosat’s latest Board of Commissioners is as follows:

Board of Commissioners

• H.E. Sheikh Abdullah Bin Mohammed Bin Saud Al Thani as President Commissioner
• Dr Nasser Marafih as Commissioner
• Mr Richard Seney as Commissioner
• Mr Rachmat Gobel as Commissioner
• Mr Rionald Silaban as Commissioner
• Mr Jarman as Commissioner
• Mr Soeprapto as Independent Commissioner
• Mr George Thia Peng Heok as Independent Commissioner
• Mr Chris Kanter as Independent Commissioner (As of 28 January, 2010)
• Mr Alexander Rusli as Independent Commissioner (As of 28 January, 2010)

In addition, one new member was appointed to the BOD, Mr Laszlo Barta, who joins Indosat from Grameenphone Ltd., Bangladesh (Telenor Group). Leaving the BOD effective 30 April 2010 is Dr Kaizad Bomi Heerjee whose latest role was Chief Commercial Officer & Director. Upon his departure from the BOD, Dr Heerjee will be taking on a new role at Qtel International.

Sheikh Abdullah commented: “We extend our utmost gratitude to Dr Kaizad Herjee for the contribution he has made to the commercial success of the Company over the last five years.
We are pleased to welcome Mr Laszlo Barta, who brings a great depth of commercial experience from his tenure at Grameenphone. His strong track record in emerging markets will be of great benefit to the Board.”

As a result of this change announced and approved, Indosat’s new Board of Directors is as follows:

• Mr Harry Sasongko Tirtotjondro as President Director
• Mr Peter Kuncewicz as Director
• Mr Steve Hobbs as Director
• Mr Fadzri Sentosa as Director
• Mr Laszlo Barta as Director effective 1 May 2010

Shareholders at the EGM expressed their gratitude and appreciation to outgoing members of both Boards for their dedication and years of excellent service to Indosat.

Indosat Tbk is a leading telecommunication and information service provider in Indonesia that provides cellular services fixed telecommunication services or fixed voice and fixed wireless service. The company also provides Multimedia, Internet & Data Communication Services (MIDI) through its subsidiary company, IndosatMega Media (IM2) and Lintasarta.

Indosat is 65% owned by Qtel and as at 31 December 2009 had 33.1 million wireless customers.

© 2000 - 2023 Al Bawaba (

You may also like