UAE’s Entry Visas Abolished for 33 Western Countries

Published March 21st, 2001 - 02:00 GMT

The UAE’s ministry of interior announced Tuesday it will grant citizens of 33 European, American and Far Eastern countries entry without a visa, reports said. 

The ministry's relations and moral guidance department said that the decision, which takes effect immediately, is intended to boost friendly relations with countries that have common interests with the UAE. 

The European countries involved are France, Italy, Germany, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Austria, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Portugal, Ireland, Greece, Cyprus, Finland, Malta, Spain, Monaco, Vatican, Iceland, Andorra, San Marino and Liechtenstein. 

Visitors from the US, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Brunei, Singapore, Malaysia and Hong Kong will also be allowed to enter the UAE without first obtaining a visit visa. 

Visitors from the UK already enjoy the facility since they receive an automatic 28-day visit visa on arrival. 

Citizens of GCC countries do not need visas to enter the Gulf state –

© 2001 Al Bawaba (

© 2000 - 2021 Al Bawaba (

You may also like