One of the World's Most Prestigious Awards, the Man Booker, Has Announced Its Nominees

Published July 27th, 2017 - 06:19 GMT
Writer Hilary Mantel won twice for her "Wolf Hall" series. The third book has yet to make an appearance. (Natalia Mikhaylova /
Writer Hilary Mantel won twice for her "Wolf Hall" series. The third book has yet to make an appearance. (Natalia Mikhaylova /

The Man Booker Prize, among the most prestigious book prizes in the world, has announced its 2017 longlist. The winner takes home £50,000.

The list of 13 books was whittled down from 144 submissions published in the UK between 1 October 2016 and 30 September 2017.

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction is open to writers of any nationality, writing in English and published in the UK. Originally, the prize excluded American authors, but, in a controversial decision made four years ago, has since allowed them.

American author Paul Beatty took the prize home last year for his satirical novel The Sellout.

The nominees are:

  • 4 3 2 1 by Paul Auster (US) (Faber & Faber)
  • Days Without End by Sebastian Barry (Ireland) (Faber & Faber)
  • History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund (US) (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
  • Exit West by Mohsin Hamid (Pakistan-UK) (Hamish Hamilton)
  • Solar Bones by Mike McCormack (Ireland) (Canongate)
  • Reservoir 13 by Jon McGregor (UK) (4th Estate)
  • Elmet by Fiona Mozley (UK) (JM Originals)
  • The Ministry Of Utmost Happiness by Arundhati Roy (India) (Hamish Hamilton)
  • Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders (US) (Bloomsbury)
  • Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie (UK-Pakistan) (Bloomsbury)
  • Autumn by Ali Smith (UK) (Hamish Hamilton)
  • Swing Time by Zadie Smith (UK) (Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead (US) (Fleet)

As far as diversity goes, this list is more akin to the 2016 Longlist than it is to 2015's, which was hailed for its range; the UK and the US have taken top spots on most of these titles. The winner in 2015 was Jamaican author Marlon James, for his A Brief History of Seven Killings.

Six of the authors have previouly been nominated, including Arundhati Roy (who won in 1997), Jon McGregor (longlisted twice), Ali Smith (three times), Zadie Smith (in 2005, for On Beauty), Sebastian Barry (three times), and Mohsin Hamid (for 2007's The Reluctant Fundamentalist).

A shortlist will be announced in September, with the eventual winner chosen in October.

We'll have more on the books later in the morning.

© 2000 - 2021 Al Bawaba (

You may also like


Sign up to our newsletter for exclusive updates and enhanced content