Aaco to host regular training at Etihad academy

Published February 16th, 2009 - 06:44 GMT

Aaco to host regular training at Etihad academy 

Etihad Airways, the national airline of the United Arab Emirates, will soon begin to host regular Arab Air Carriers Organisation (AACO) training courses at its home base in Abu Dhabi.


It follows a successful period of collaboration between the two organisations during the past year when AACO held aviation courses for personnel working with member airlines at the Etihad training academy.


Initially the new agreement will allow AACO to conduct the Aviation Security (AVSEC) professional management course at the training academy. AVSEC is a regulatory course for the UAE’s General Civil Aviation Authority.


An official signing for the agreement took place at Etihad’s head office on Monday, 16 February, between James Hogan, Etihad Airways’ chief executive, and Abdul Wahab Teffaha, AACO’s secretary general.


Mr Hogan said: “The Etihad training academy offers state-of-the-art teaching facilities and equipment and we are extremely proud that AACO has chosen us as one of its key locations to host training courses.


“Etihad Airways has established itself in little more than five years as a leading AACO member and we are honoured to play a central role in helping to develop the skills and capabilities of aviation personnel working throughout the Middle East.”


As part of the deal the airline will also gain the prestigious AACO accreditation for Etihad’s training academy.


Mr Abdul Wahab Teffaha said: “Etihad’s new headquarters and training academy are among the best in the world and we look forward to start the Aviation Security courses there in the coming months.


“Abu Dhabi and Etihad continue to build their positions at the centre of the aviation industry in the region and this agreement is further recognition of this rise in prominence.”


The AVSEC professional management course leads to a formal certificate delivered jointly by International Civil Aviation Organisation (IACO) and Canada’s Concordia University. The certification provides participants with extensive knowledge in aviation security and relevant management fields.


AACO is the regional association of Arab airlines. It was established in 1965 by the Arab League with the objective to promote cooperation, quality and safety standards among Arab airlines.


There are 24 members of AACO which include all Arab flag carriers, in addition to many private or publicly owned regular and charter operators.


Etihad Airways’ chairman, HH Dr Sheikh Ahmed Bin Saif Al Nahyan and James Hogan are both regular attendees and participants at the AACO annual general meeting, held at the end of every year throughout the Arab World.


© 2000 - 2022 Al Bawaba (www.albawaba.com)

You may also like