Abdulaziz Bakr, Karim Al Azhari and Costas Papantonis champions of the 2006/2007 national raceday series

Published April 30th, 2007 - 07:08 GMT

Dubai, United Arab Emirates, April 29th, 2007- Abdulaziz Bakr, Karim Al Azhari and Costas Papantonis lifted the trophy in the UAE Superstock Bike, Bartercard Radical Cup and the Motorworks GTI Cup championships respectively following the final round held on the 4.29 Km international circuit of the Dubai Autodrome on Friday.

The Motorworks GTI Cup concluding round top of the podium saw the talented new comer Tarek Elgammal after amazingly moving from fourth position on the grid to a well deserved win in the first race, closely battling Mohammad Al Falasi who in turn finished second followed by Gareth Morgan. Elgammal kept his outstanding performance in the second race, finishing with a mere time difference of 0.188 from Gareth Morgan in second place and 3.941 second over Mohammad Al Falasi in third place.

The qualifying session early in the day saw Mohammad Al Falasi on top with a fastest time of 2:04.037 minutes followed by Gareth Morgan with 2:04.979 minutes and Costas Papantonis with 2:05.253 minutes.

After dominating the full 2006/2007 season Karim Al Azhari once again qualified on pole position with a fastest lap time of 1:41.439 in the Bartercard Radical Cup followed by Bassam Kronfli with 1:42.544 minutes and by local driver Mohammaed Al Owais with 1:42.954 minutes.

The following two races were yet again dominated by the pole sitter Karim Al Azhari leaving second place to Bassam Kronfli in the first race and Mohammed Al Owais in the second race. Third place went to Mohammed Al Owais in the first race and Maurits Knopjes in the second race.

The mere participation of Saudi rider Abdulaziz Bakr in the last round of the UAE Superstock secured him the 2006/2007 Championship title. Abdulaziz recorded the fastest lap in the qualifying session with 1:48.201 minutes followed by Andrew Flint with 1.49.315 minutes and Rod Scott with 1:50.294 minutes.

Suzuki rider Andrew Flint was then placed first in the race one followed by Yamaha rider Rod Scott where as Champion Kawazaki rider Abdulaziz was third. Race two was then won by Rod Scott followed by Andrew Flint in second and Johnnie Pienaar in third.

The day was concluded with a grandiose showcase of one hundred exotic cars driven around the track a part of the concluding phase of the Arab Run. The 2007/2008 national raceday calendar will be announced over the summer and starts in late October after Ramadan.

About the Dubai Autodrome

Dubai Autodrome is the region's first fully-integrated motorsports facility. The Autodrome is a state-of-the-art complex featuring an FIA sanctioned 5.39 km track, There are six track permutations, with three of them being able to work simultaneously, giving unparalleled options for track users. The complex, part of the Union Properties MotorCity development, includes a Race & Driving School, a CIK-approved Kart track; is ideal for concerts and corporate entertainment. Dubai Autodrome also acts as a social destination and tourist attraction for overseas visitors.


© 2000 - 2023 Al Bawaba (www.albawaba.com)

You may also like


Sign up to our newsletter for exclusive updates and enhanced content