Emirates SkyCargo Takes Double First at Middle East Logistics Awards

Published November 29th, 2006 - 02:13 GMT

The first annual Middle East Logistics Awards (MELA) held at the Madinat, Jumeirah in Dubai represented an exceptional evening for Emirates SkyCargo which picked up two awards for outstanding performance in the last year.

Twenty-seven prestigious awards for 18 companies were bestowed at the ceremony which saw key industry players from the Middle East logistics field honored for their contributions, delivery of service, innovation and progressive thinking.

Emirates SkyCargo was named Best Air Cargo Carrier as well as the Best Air Charter Operator of the Year.  The awards were accepted by Ram Menen, Emirates Divisional Senior Vice President, Cargo and by Emirates SkyCargo’s charters team, Nihal Wickrema and Mike Duggan, Emirates Cargo Charter Capacity Managers.

The victory fell on the heels of the division’s award win for “Brand of the Decade” which it secured at the Air Cargo India Conference just a few days before.

Winners for the MELA Awards 2006 were determined by the Middle East logistics community through a two-stage process of nominating and voting for their choice of companies and individuals. Nomination and voting processes were audited by AGNMAK, an official auditing body for the awards.

Emirates SkyCargo’s involvement with the event was also supported by the role of Prakash Nair, Manager, Emirates Network Cargo Sales Development.  Mr. Nair sits on the MELA Executive Board and has been appointed to lead the MELA Winner’s Alliance- an exclusive advisory body comprised of experts who have achieved industry recognition in the field.

Mr. Nair is accompanied by fellow MELA board members Mike Lee, President, Supply Chain and Logistics Group (SCLG); Geoff Wheatley, Regional Director, SSI-Schaefer; Aleem Aziz, Vice President, Media One Group, and CEO, MELA Management Office; and Martin Menachery, Editor, Media One Group, and Head - Press & Information, MELA Media Committee, MELA Management Office.


© 2000 - 2022 Al Bawaba (www.albawaba.com)

You may also like