Entry Visa Allows 60-Day Stay in UAE

Published July 10th, 2001 - 02:00 GMT

The entry permits issued to the citizens of 32 European, American and Asian countries at entry points in the UAE entitle them to stay in the country for 60 days from the date of entry, reported the Khaleej Times, quoting official sources. 

The UAE cabinet issued in March a decree allowing nationals of many European, American and Asian countries to enter the UAE without a prior visit visa, and decided to grant them visas at the entry points.  

According to the report, countries named in the decree are: the United Kingdom, France, Germany, Holland, Belgium, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Austria, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Portugal, Ireland, Greece, Finland, Spain, Monaco, Vatican, Iceland, Andorra, San Marino, Liechtenstein, the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Brunei, Singapore, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Malta and Cyprus.  

However, another decree issued by the cabinet in April postponed implementation of the order in the case of Cyprus and Malta until later this year, and added South Korea to the list, said the paper.  

An official told the Khaleej Times that a large number of visitors from these countries were confused about the legal duration of their stay.  

"The confusion comes from the stamp on the entry visa which states that the permit holder can stay for one month only," he said.  

He clarified that under the Federal Entry and Residency Law, visit visas were valid for one month, but visitors could stay for another 30 days, bringing the total of their legal stay to 60 days from the day of entry – Albawaba.com 


© 2000 - 2021 Al Bawaba (www.albawaba.com)

You may also like