EU Agrees to Extend Sanctions on Russia For Further Six Months

Published March 12th, 2018 - 02:50 GMT
EU leaders extend Russia sanctions  (AFP/File Photo)
EU leaders extend Russia sanctions (AFP/File Photo)

The European Union has extended sanctions on Russia for six more months over its actions against Ukraine, the European Council said on Monday.

In a statement, the council said the measures consist of asset freezes and travel restrictions will continue to apply on 150 persons and 38 entities.

"An assessment of the situation did not justify a change in the sanctions regime. The relevant information and statement of reasons for the listing of these persons and entities were updated as necessary," it said.

It said the other EU measures in place in response to the Ukraine crisis included economic sanctions targeting specific sectors of the Russian economy and restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol.



Ukraine has been wracked by conflict since March 2014 following Russia’s annexation of Crimea after an independence vote.

The U.N. General Assembly voted to proclaim the Russian annexation illegal.

Russia’s annexation led Western powers, including the U.S., to impose sanctions against Moscow.

Along with the U.N. General Assembly, the U.S., the EU, and Turkey do not recognize Crimea as Russian territory.


This article has been adapted from its original source.


© Copyright Andolu Ajansi

You may also like