Jordanian Writers Association Elects 1st Woman President

Published January 26th, 2000 - 02:00 GMT

Dr. Ranad Al-Khateeb has been recently become the first women to be elected as President of the Jordanian Writers Association. 


Al-Ittihad daily reports that 130 of the 200 members voted, casting 72 votes for Al-Khateeb and 50 for the former minister, Mr. Taha Al-Habahbeh. Additionally, the seats in the board of directors of the association were occupied by the following persons: Mr. Sadeq Joudah, Ms. Nadia Al-Aloul, Mr. Mohammed Al-Abbady, Mr. Mohammed Awwad, Mr. Mustafa Kharisat, Mr. Uda Abu Snina, Mr. Mahmoud Kadham and Mr. Mohammed Al-Kafaween.  

© 2000 Al Bawaba (

You may also like