Egypt Coach Aguirre Makes Minimal Changes to Squad Ahead of Swaziland Test

Published October 2nd, 2018 - 09:26 GMT
Javier Aguirre
Javier Aguirre

Egypt coach Javier Aguirre has largely kept faith with the side that demolished Niger 6-0 on his debut last month as he named 15 home-based players for a double-header against Swaziland in the African Cup of Nations qualifiers later this month.

The Mexican made few changes, calling up Arab Contractors' in-form striker Ahmed Ali, who made the last of his seven international appearances in June 2011, and Zamalek's central defender Mahmoud Hamdi.

There was no room for Masry winger Islam Eissa, who stole headlines with some impressive displays and was instrumental in helping his side reach the African Confederation Cup semi-final.

Ahly's veteran winger Walid Soliman, who played a key role in leading the Cairo giants to a place in the African Champions League semis, was also left out.

Aguirre has recently named 12 foreign-based players for the Swaziland games, including Liverpool star Mohamed Salah, Turkish-based winger Mahmoud Trezeguet and Olympiacos striker Ahmed Kouka.

Egypt hammered Niger in Alexandria last month to give Aguirre a winning start after he replaced Argentinean boss Hector Cuper following an embarrassing World Cup campaign.

The Pharaohs, who are second in Group J with three points, three behind leaders Tunisia, host Swaziland on 12 October before facing them away from home four days later.

The top two in the group will qualify for next year's Nations Cup finals in Cameroon. 

Egypt's full squad:

Goalkeepers: Mohamed El-Shennawi (Pyramids FC), Mohamed Awad (Ismaily), Mahmoud Gennesh (Zamalek), Mohamed Abou-Gabal (Smouha)

Defenders: Ahmed Elmohamady (Aston Villa, England), Ahmed Hegazi (West Bromwich, England), Ali Gabr (Pyramids FC), Aly Ghazal (Vancouver Whitecaps, Canada), Amro Tarek (Orlando City, the United States), Ayman Ashraf, Mohamed Hani (Ahly), Mahmoud Hamdi (Zamalek), Mohamed Hamdi (Pyramids FC), Baher El-Mohamadi (Ismaily)

Midfielders: Mohamed Sadek (Ismaily), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal, England), Sam Morsy (Wigan Athletic, England), Tarek Hamed (Zamalek), Mohamed Mahmoud (Wadi Degla), Mahmoud Trezeguet (Kasimpasa, Turkey), Amr Warda (PAOK, Greece), Hussein El-Shahat (Al-Ain, UAE)

Forwards: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Ahmed Kouka (Olympiacos, Greece), Ahmed Ali (Arab Contractors), Salah Mohsen, Marwan Mohsen (Ahly)

© Copyright Al-Ahram Publishing House

You may also like