FIFA Arab Cup 2021: 22 Countries Confirm Their Participation

Published November 26th, 2020 - 08:49 GMT
Gianni Infantino (Photo: AFP)
Gianni Infantino (Photo: AFP)

President of the International Federation of Football (FIFA), Gianni Infantino, said that 22 countries will take part in the Arab Cup of Nations, scheduled in Qatar from 1 to 8 December 2021, announced the federation Tuesday evening on its official website.

"We are delighted that 22 teams from the Arab world have agreed to participate in the Arab Fifa Cup 2021, which will take place in the stadiums of the next World Cup, and we look forward to seeing the

best teams in the region compete for the title. Through soccer, this tournament will bring together more than 450 million people from across the region and will undoubtedly help to build excitement as the first-ever FIFA

World Cup is held in the Middle East and the Arab world is fast approaching," said the Federation's agency, quoted by the same source.

The 22 participating teams are : Algeria, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, United Arab Emirates, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Mauritania, Om an, Palestine, Qatar, Somalia, Sudan,

Syria, Tunisia and Yemen. The 16 teams that will participate in the final phase will be divided into four groups, the first two of which will qualify for the quarter-finals. A total of 32 matches will be held over 18 days.

APS © 2021. All Rights Reserved

You may also like