Pakistan defeat India to win Champions Trophy

Pakistan defeat India to win Champions Trophy
4.00 6

Published June 18th, 2017 - 22:56 GMT via

Rate Article:

PRINT Send Mail
comment (0)
ICC Champions Trophy
ICC Champions Trophy

Pakistan did at the Oval what the Indians did to them in the group stage match at Edgbaston.

They thrashed India by 180 runs to walk away with the Champions Trophy, literally taking it away from the champions.

After rising up from their whipping at Edgbaston, the Pakistan players scaled to great heights in determination to win the Champions Trophy which has always eluded them.

India’s batting, considered the strongest, crumbled before the Pakistan bowlers led by Mohammad Amir, who wiped away the cream of the Indian batting with three wickets, followed by Hasan Ali with three wickets and Shadab Khan with two more, to bowl India out for 158 in 30.3 overs.

It was Pakistan’s day at the Oval. Put into bat, Pakistan piled up 338 for 4, riding on 27-year-old Fakhar Zaman’s century and his 128 runs opening partnership with Azhar Ali in 22.6 overs. Playing only in his fourth One Day International, Zaman cracked 114 in 106 balls with 12 boundaries and three sixes. The in-form and consistent Ali hit 59 off 71 balls with six fours and one six.

Based on the platform provided by their openers, Babar Zaman cracked 46 off 52 balls with four boundaries and added 72 runs in just 10.1 overs for the second wicket.

Though the next batsman Shoaib Malek lasted only 16 balls to score 12 runs, he too added 47 runs in 6.3 overs maintaining the run rate of over seven runs.

Pakistan sailed past the 300 run mark through Mohammad Hafeez’s unbeaten 57 off 37 balls with four boundaries and three sixes and put on 71 runs in 7.3 overs with Imad Wasim unbeaten on 25.

It was a shocking start for India with opener Rohit Sharma getting trapped leg before to a Amir in-swinger for a duck to the third ball of the innings.

In the third over, Virat Kohli was dropped by Azhar Ali at slip off Amir’s third ball, but he had him out with the next ball when he flicked and the leading edge went to Shadab Khan at backward point for 5. Yuvraj Singh and Shikhar Dhawan added 27 runs in 6.2 overs when Dhawan, wanting to glide Amir to third man, edged to the wicketkeeper and Pakistan skipper Sarfraz Ahmad for 21. It was a beauty of a cross seamer with extra bounce.

In the 13th over, leg spinner Shadab Khan had Yuvraj Singh leg before by turning the ball sharp. In the next over, Mahendra Singh Dhoni too departed, pulling to Imad Wasim for 4, and Pakistan had by then taken full control of the match. When Kedar Jadhav too fell for 9 to Shadad, Pakistan’s victory was just a formality.

The only glitter in India’s innings was Hardik Pandya’s breezy 76 runs off 43 balls with four boundaries and six sixes before being run out. He tried his best to liven up the spirits of the Indian fans with three successive sixes off Shadab Khan and put on 80 runs in 9.3 overs for the seventh wickets with Ravindra Jadeja (15).

Earlier, India won the toss and began their attack through Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who bowled a maiden over. He showed signs of moving the ball. Jasprit Bumrah, with his ramrod straight arm action, did hit Fakhar Zaman’s pad in the second over and appealed for a leg before. Soon the openers faced the Indian pacers comfortably.

Zaman, on 4, nicked Bumrah to Dhoni but the replay showed Bumrah had bowled a no ball. There after the Pakistan openers were in full flow, refusing to commit any mistakes. Ali began stroking beautifully and a short-arm jab off Bumrah to the boundary showed he was seeing the ball beautifully.

Zaman played the pull shots effectively - especially against Kumar. India introduced strike bowler Ravichandran Ashwin in the eighth over. Ali hit him over long off for a six to announce he was determined to take on the bowlers. The pair reached their 50 runs partnership in 9.2 overs when Ali swept Ashwin for a boundary.

It was a treat to watch Zaman picking the gaps for boundaries, often disecting the fielders. Hardik Pandya was introduced in the 15th over but Ali slashed him in the air to the third man boundary. A desperate Indian skipper Virat Kohli - wanting to stem the run flow - introduced Ravindra Jadeja in the 16th over. None could stop the openers who recorded their 100 runs partnership in 18 overs until Ali got run out.

Bumrah tripped over and fell on top of the ball but picked it up and threw to wicketkeeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Ali paid the price for his partner Zaman watching the ball and not responding.

Babar Azam joined Zaman and the pair continued smoothly. Zaman reached his maiden century in 97 balls. Pandya finally ended Zaman’s knock in the 34th over. Zaman hit in the air and Jadeja took a well judged catch running back from point.

Scoreboard on Sunday in the Champions Trophy final between Pakistan and India at The Oval:


Azhar Ali run out 59

Fakhar Zaman c Jadeja b Pandya 114

Babar Azam c Singh b Jadhav 46

Shoaib Malik c Jadhav b Kumar 12

Mohammad Hafeez not out 57

Imad Wasim not out 25

Extras: (9lb, 13w, 3nb) 25

TOTAL: (for 4 wickets) 338

Overs: 50

Did not bat: Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan.

Fall of wickets: 1-128, 2-200, 3-247, 4-267

Bowling: Bhuvneshwar Kumar 10-2-44-1, Jasprit Bumrah 9-0-68-0, Ravichandran Ashwin 10-0-70-0, Hardik Pandya 10-0-53-1, Ravindra Jadeja 8-0-67-0, Kedar Jadhav 3-0-27-1.


Rohit Sharma lbw b Amir 0

Shikhar Dhawan c Ahmed b Amir 21

Virat Kohli c Shadab b Amir 5

Yuvraj Singh lbw b Shadab 22

Mahendra Singh Dhoni c Wasim b Hasan 4

Kedar Jadhav c Ahmed b Shadab 9

Hardik Pandya run out 76

Ravindra Jadeja c Azam b Junaid 15

Ravichandran Ashwin s Ahmed b Hasan 1

Bhuvneshwar Kumar not out 1

Jasprit Bumrah c Ahmed b Hasan 1

Extras: (2lb, 1w) 3

TOTAL: (all out) 158

Overs: 30.3

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-6, 3-33, 4-54, 5-54, 6-72, 7-152, 8-156, 9-156, 10-158

Bowling: Mohammad Amir 6-2-16-3, Junaid Khan 6-1-20-1, Mohammad Hafeez 1-0-13-0, Hasan Ali 6.3-1-19-3, Shadab Khan 7-0-60-2, Imad Wasim 0.3-0-3-0, Fakhar Zaman 3.3-0-25-0.

Result: Pakistan wins by 180 runs

Toss: India

Umpires: Marais Erasmus, South Africa, and Richard Kettleborough, England.

TV umpire: Rod Tucker, Australia. Match referee: David Boon, Australia.

By K.R. Nayar

© Al Nisr Publishing LLC 2017. All rights reserved.

Add a new comment