Leaders gearing up for the World Economic Forum on the Middle East in Egypt

Published May 15th, 2006 - 10:32 GMT

More than 1,200 government, business and civil society leaders from 46 countries will meet together in pursuit of outcomes to help prepare the way for a more prosperous and peaceful future for the Middle East under the working theme, “The Promise of a New Generation”. Participants will look at the role of business as the engine of job creation and the need for leaders to work together for peace and stability.


“The World Economic Forum on the Middle East comes at a crucial time in the region for so many reasons – but if the future is to be secure both for the Middle East and for the rest of the world, it is to the next generation that we need to deliver. By engaging business, by forging partnerships between the public and private sectors, and by constructive and fruitful dialogue we will contribute to a future where we will be able to realize the promise of a new generation,” said Professor Klaus Schwab, Founder and Executive Chairman of the World Economic Forum. 


According to the Egyptian Prime Minister, Ahmed Mahmoud Nazif, “the region is going through a transformation – from economic growth to democratization and human development. This meeting will be a chance to facilitate meaningful dialogue on a wide variety of issues including the global business agenda. Sharm El Sheikh has gained international recognition as a city of peace. We hope that the spirit of the city will prevail as we continue to accelerate the development of our nation economically and politically." 


Held with the full support of President Muhammad Hosni Mubarak of Egypt, government representatives from 29 countries will take part. Some of the leading participants are from Bahrain: Sheikh Mohamed Bin Mubarak Al Khalifa, Deputy Prime Minister, Sheikh Khalid bin Ahmad Al Khalifa, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Sheikh Ahmed M. Al Khalifa, Minister of Finance; Djibouti, Dileita Mohamed Dileita, Prime Minister, Egypt: Suzanne Mubarak, First Lady of Egypt, Ahmed Mahmoud Nazif, Prime Minister, Ahmed Aboul Gheit, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Rachid M. Rachid, Minister of Trade and Industry, Gamal H. Mubarak, Head, Policy Secretariat, National Democratic Party, Amre Moussa, Secretary-General League of Arab States; Iraq: Hoshyar Zebari, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Barham Salih, Minister of Planning and Development Cooperation, Sheikh Humam Hammoudi, President, Constitutional Drafting Council, Mowaffak Al Rubaie, National Security Adviser, National Security Council; Jordan: Khaled Toukan, Minister of Education and Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research, Bassem I. Awadallah, Director, Office of the King, The Royal Hashemite Court; Kuwait: Sheikha Hissah Saad Al Sabah, President, Council of Arab Business Woman (CABW), Sheikh Ahmed Bin Fahd Al Sabah, Minister of Energy, Youssef Al Zalzaleh, Minister of Commerce and Industry; Lebanon: Emile Lahoud, President, Fouad Siniora, Prime Minister, Fawzi Salukh, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Emigrants; Malaysia: Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, Prime Minister; Malta: Lawrence Gonzi, Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, Michael Frendo, Minister of Foreign Affairs; Morocco: Mustapha Mechahouri, Minister of Foreign Trade, André Azoulay, Counsellor to the King of Morocco; Pakistan: Shaukat Aziz, Prime Minister; Palestinian Territories: Mahmoud Abbas, President of the Palestinian Authority; Chairman of the Palestinian Liberation Organization Executive Committee; Qatar: Sheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Al Thani, Emir of the State of Qatar; Chairman, Islamic Conference Organization, Sheikh Hamad Bin Jassim Bin Jabr Al Thani, First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs; Russia: Alexander Saltanov, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs; Saudi Arabia: Prince Turki Al Faisal, Chairman, King Faisal Centre for Research and Islamic Studies and Ambassador of Saudi Arabia to the USA; Abdullah Zainal Alireza, Minister of State of Saudi Arabia; Singapore: Zainul Abidin Rasheed, Minister of State of Foreign Affairs; Sudan: Az-Zobeir Ahmed Al Hasan, Minister of Finance and National Economy of Sudan; Tunisia: Mohamed Rachid Kechiche, Minister of Finance; Turkey: Recep Tayyip Erdogan, Prime Minister, Abdullah Gül, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Ali Babacan, Minister of Economy and Chief Negotiator for the European Union; United Arab Emirates: Sheikh Mohammed Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Chief of Staff, Untied Arab Emirates Armed Forces, Sheikh Hamed Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Chairman, Abu Dhabi Department of Economy and Planning, Mohammed Khalfan Bin Khirbash, Minister of State for Finance and Industry, Mohammad Al Gergawi, Executive Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Dubai Holding; and the USA: Robert B. Zoellick, US Deputy Secretary of State, John W. Snow, US Secretary of the Treasury, and several Senators and Members of Congress.


The Co-Chairs of the meeting are: Princess Lolwah Al Faisal, Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees and General Supervisor, Effat College, Saudi Arabia; Mohammed H. Almady, Vice-Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Saudi Basic Industries Corporation (SABIC), Saudi Arabia; M. Shafik Gabr, Chairman and Managing Director, Artoc Group for Investment & Development, Egypt; Chairman of the Arab Business Council; Stelios Haji-Ioannou, Chairman, easyGroup, United Kingdom; Nemir A. Kirdar, Founder, President and Chief Executive Officer, Investcorp, United Kingdom; and William R. Rhodes, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President, Citicorp Holdings and Citibank, USA.

© 2000 - 2021 Al Bawaba (www.albawaba.com)

You may also like


Sign up to our newsletter for exclusive updates and enhanced content