Artist Marina Abramović Wins The 2021 Princess of Asturias Award For The Arts

Published May 14th, 2021 - 11:55 GMT
Marina Abramović
Marina Abramović (Instagram/theculthouse)
Are you familiar with the career of Marina Abramović, 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts?

By Ewelina Lepionko

Performance artist Marina Abramović received the prestigious 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts. 

The jury revealed the 74-year-old Abramovic displayed “a sensorial and spiritual component hitherto unknown.”

“Abramovic’s courage in her dedication to an absolute art and her adhesion to the vanguard produce moving experiences that demand an intense connection with the spectator and make her one of the most inspiring artists of her time.“

Fundación Princesa de Asturias

According to the India Express the 50,000-euro ($56,700) award is one of eight prizes, ranging from the arts, social sciences, and sports, handed out annually by a foundation named after Spanish Crown Princess Leonor.

Who is Marina Abramovic?

Marina Abramovic is a New York-based Serbian performance artist who began her career in the early 1970s. Active for over four decades, her work explores the relationship between performer and audience, the limits of the body, and the possibilities of the mind.

Abramovic was awarded the Golden Lion for Best Artist at the 1997 Venice Biennale. In 2008, she was decorated with the Austrian Commander Cross for her contribution to art history. 

In 2010, Abramovic had her first major U.S. retrospective and simultaneously performed for 716 hours in “The Artist is Present” at the Museum of Modern Art in New York. Over 750,000 visitors came. ​

In 2020, she premiered in the Seven Deaths of Maria Callas, an operatic montage centering around the top diva. That same year, the Royal Academy of Arts programmed a retrospective on the Serbian artist’s work but was postponed until 2023 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

According to critics, Abramović’s work explores “the limits of the body and mind” through risky, complex performances in a constant search for individual freedom.

What is The Princess of Asturias Foundation?

The Princess of Asturias Foundation holds the Princess of Asturias Awards presented at an academic ceremony held each year in Oviedo, capital of the Principality of Asturias. The Foundation’s aims to contribute to extolling and promoting scientific, cultural, and humanistic values that form part of the universal heritage of humanity and consolidate the existing links between the Principality of Asturias and the title traditionally held by the heirs to the Crown of Spain. 

© 2000 - 2023 Al Bawaba (

You may also like


Sign up to our newsletter for exclusive updates and enhanced content