16 Iraqi Political Groups 'Stick Heads Together' To Draw Up New Cabinet

Published September 3rd, 2018 - 06:53 GMT
Political groups form largest bloc in parliament (Twitter)
Political groups form largest bloc in parliament (Twitter)

Sixteen Iraqi political groups formed Sunday the largest parliamentary group that will be tasked with drawing up a new government.

Among the group are Shia cleric Muqteda al-Sadr’s Sairoon, Prime Minister Haidar al-Abadi’s al-Nasr coalition, al-Hikma, al-Wataniya, al-Qarar, as well as Iraqi Turkmen Front (ITF) and Kirkuk Arab MPs, said a statement issued by the pertinent parties after a meeting in Baghdad.



The new bloc includes religious and ethnic groups, such as Shia and Sunni Arabs and Turkmen, as well as Yazidi and Christian minorities.

A total of 166 MPs are required to form a coalition in the 329-seat parliament. But the new coalition has surpassed this number with 177 lawmakers, said the statement.

The coalition is also able to form the country's next government.

On Aug. 27, Iraqi President Fuad Masum issued a decree to convene the first session of the country’s recently-elected parliament on Monday.

The formation of a new government in Iraq has been delayed since May, when the results of the parliamentary elections were fiercely disputed, leading to a recount of votes.


This article has been adapted from its original source.

You may also like