Carlos Queiroz Names 24-Man Iran World Cup Squad

Published May 20th, 2018 - 03:57 GMT
Carlos Queiroz
Carlos Queiroz

Iran national football team coach Carlos Queiroz has announced his 24-man squad for the 2018 World Cup.

It seems there is no place on the plane to Russia for Persepolis captain Jalal Hosseini and Esteghlal winger Vouria Ghaffouri.

These two players as well as Esteghlal keeper Hossein Hosseini and Charleroi striker Kaveh Rezaei are on a four-man standby list.

The final squad will be named by June 4.

Team Melli will travel to Istanbul on Monday to hold a training camp in the European country. The Persians will face Turkey football team on May 29 in a friendly match as part of preparation for the 2018 World Cup.

Iran have been drawn in Group B of the 2018 World Cup along with Morocco, Spain and Portugal.

The Iran national football team will open the campaign with a match against Morocco at Saint Petersburg on June 15.

Team Melli, meanwhile, face Spain in Kazan on 20 June before meeting Cristiano Ronaldo's Portugal in Saransk five days later.

The matches of the 2018 World Cup will be held between June 14 and July 15 at 12 stadiums.


Alireza Beiranvand (Persepolis / Iran)

Rashid Mazaheri (Zob Ahan / Iran)

Amir Abedzadeh (Marítimo / Liga NOS)

Ramin Rezaeian (KV Oostende / Belgian First Division A)

Mohammad Reza Khanzadeh (Padideh / Iran)

Morteza Pouraliganji (Al Saad / Qatar stars League)

Pejman Montazeri (Esteghlal / Iran)

Seyed Majid Hosseini (Esteghlal / Iran)

Milad Mohammadi (Akhmat Grozny / Russian Premier League)

Roozbeh Cheshmi (Esteghlal / Iran)

Saeid Ezatolahi (Amkar Perm / Russian Premier League)

Masoud Shojaei (AEK Athenes / Superleague Greece)

Mehdi Torabi (Saipa / Iran)

Ashkan Dejagah (Notthingham Forest / Championship)

Omid Ebrahimi (Esteghlal / Iran)

Ehsan Hajsafi (Olympiakos / Superleague Greece)

Vahid Amiri (Persepolis / Iran)

Ali Gholizadeh (Saipa / Iran)

Karim Ansarifard (Olympiakos / Superleague Greece)

Alireza Jahanbakhsh (AZ / Eredivisie)

Saman Ghoddos (Ostersunds FK / Allsvenskan)

Mahdi Taremi (Al-Gharafa Sports Club / Qatar Stars League)

Sardar Azmoun (Rubin Kazan / Russian Premier League)

Reza Ghoochannejhad (Heerenveen / Eredivisie)

© 2020 TehranTimes. All Rights Reserved.

You may also like