Kuwait Receives Gulf Cup Trophy from Qatar

Published December 19th, 2017 - 03:12 GMT
The 23rd Arabian Gulf Cup logo
The 23rd Arabian Gulf Cup logo

The Kuwait Football Association (KFA) on Monday said that it had received the Gulf Cup trophy from Qatar, the winners of the 22nd edition of the tournament.

This year’s Gulf Cup will be held in Kuwait, after Qatar graciously offered them to host it following the lifting of FIFA ban.

The 23rd edition of Gulf Cup will be played from December 22 to January 5.

KFA Secretary-General and 23rd Gulf Cup Director Mohammad Khalil received the trophy from Hamad al Mannae,

chairman of competitions committee at Qatar’s Football Association, the KFA said in a statement. Khalil thanked Mannae for bringing the trophy to Kuwait from Doha.

The opening match of the Gulf Cup will be played between Kuwait and Saudi Arabia at Jaber International Stadium. Defending champions Qatar will play Bahrain in their first match on December 23.

© Copyright Qatar Tribune. All Rights Reserved.

You may also like