Hodgson reveals World Cup squad numbers

Published May 22nd, 2014 - 10:07 GMT
Wilshere No.7 & Welbeck No.11 as Hodgson confirms World Cup squad numbers
Wilshere No.7 & Welbeck No.11 as Hodgson confirms World Cup squad numbers

England boss Roy Hodgson has revealed his side's squad numbers for the World Cup in Brazil.

There are few surprises among a roster that could hint at how the Three Lions might line up in Manaus when they take on Italy in their opening match of the competition.

Joe Hart claims the No.1 jersey, while skipper Steven Gerrard will don No.4 after Frank Lampard took the No.8 shirt, which the Liverpool captain usually wears for the Reds.

Glen Johnson, Leighton Baines, Gary Cahill and Phil Jagielka all claim the primary defensive numbers, suggesting that they could be the back line for which Hodgson opts in Brazil.

Jack Wilshere, meanwhile, has been handed the No.7 jersey, while strikers Wayne Rooney, Daniel Sturridge and Danny Welbeck will wear the No.10, No.9 and No.11 shirts, respectively.

England squad numbers in full:

1. Joe Hart
2. Glen Johnson
3. Leighton Baines
4. Steven Gerrard
5. Gary Cahill
6. Phil Jagielka
7. Jack Wilshere
8. Frank Lampard
9. Daniel Sturridge
10. Wayne Rooney
11. Daniel Welbeck
12. Chris Smalling
13. Ben Foster
14. Jordan Henderson
15. Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain
16. Phil Jones
17. James Milner
18. Rickie Lambert
19. Raheem Sterling
20. Adam Lallana
21. Ross Barkley
22. Fraser Forster
23. Luke Shaw

Copyright © 2022 Goal.com All rights reserved.

You may also like


Sign up to our newsletter for exclusive updates and enhanced content