Nominations announced for Arabian Gulf League awards

Published April 19th, 2017 - 07:58 GMT
Arabian Gulf League logo
Arabian Gulf League logo

Nominations for the Arabian Gulf League Awards were announced on Tuesday. Names have been selected based on statistics for the 2016/17 season.

Best Emirati Player of the Year nominees are: Ali Mabkhout, Fares Juma and Mohammad Fawzi from Al Jazira; Ahmad Khalil, Esmail Al Hammadi and Walid Abbas of Al Ahli; Omar Abdul Rahman and Esmail Ahmad from Al Ain; and Tariq Ahmad and Masoud Sulaiman from Al Nasr.

Foreign Player nominees are: Makhete Diop and Everton Ribeiro from Al Ahli; Sebastian Tagliabue and Balazs Dzsudzsak of Al Wahda; Fabio de Lima and Caio Canedo from Al Wasl; Abdul Aziz Barada from Al Nasr; Gelmin Rivas from Sharjah; Caio Lucas from Al Ain and Mbark Boussoufa from Al Jazira.

Best Newcomer nominees are: Khalfan Mubarak of Al Jazira; Ahmad Rashid, Mohammad Abdul Basit and Mohammad Al Akberi from Al Wahda; Hassan Al Muharrami of Bani Yas; Mohammad Juma from Al Shabab; Jassim Yaqoob at Al Nasr; Omar Juma Rabeeh from Sharjah; Saeed Jasem of Al Ahli and Ali Salmin from Al Wasl.

Best Goalkeeper nods go to: Majid Nasser from Al Ahli. Ali Khaseif at Al Jazira, Obaid Raihan of Hatta, Rashid Ali from Al Wahda and Khalid Eisa at Al Ain.

The Best Coach nominees are: Al Jazira’s Henk ten Cate, Al Ahli’s Cosmin Olaroiu, Al Wahda’s Javier Aguirre, Al Wasl’s Rodolfo Arruabarrena and Al Nasr’s Dan Petrescu.

Voting started on Tuesday and runs until April 25 via the website.

© Al Nisr Publishing LLC 2022. All rights reserved.

You may also like


Sign up to our newsletter for exclusive updates and enhanced content