Shortlist for Arabian Gulf League awards announced

Published May 1st, 2017 - 12:25 GMT
Ceremony to be held in Abu Dhabi on May 15
Ceremony to be held in Abu Dhabi on May 15

The final three-man shortlists for the 2016/17 Arabian Gulf League awards have been announced following a round of voting.

Emirati Player of the Year nominees are; Al Jazira’s Ali Mabkhout, Al Ain’s Omar Abdul Rahman and Al Ahli’s Ahmad Khalil.

Foreign Player of the Year contenders are; Al Ahli’s Makhete Diop, and Al Wasl duo Fabio de Lima and Caio Canedo. Best Newcomer nominees are; Al Jazira’s Khalfan Mubarak, Al Nasr’s Jassim Yaqoub and Al Wahda’s Mohammad Al Akberi.

Coach of the Year candidates are; Al Jazira’s Henk ten Cate, Al Ahli’s Cosmin Olaroiu and Al Wasl’s Rodolfo Arruabarrena, while the Best Goalkeeper award nods are; Al Ahli’s Majed Nasser, Al Jazira’s Ali Khaseif and Al Ain’s Khaled Eisa.

The winners will be announced in an awards ceremony at Abu Dhabi’s Jumeirah Etihad Towers from 7.30pm on May 15.

Other awards will be handed out in the categories of; best eleven, top scorer, Under-21 top scorer, best club and AGL fantasy football manager of the year.

© Al Nisr Publishing LLC 2022. All rights reserved.

You may also like