Saudi names 15 mosque bombing suspects

Published June 4th, 2015 - 07:44 GMT

Saudi Arabia has offered cash rewards for information leading to the arrest of 16 suspects wanted for their links with two deadly mosque bombings and an attack on a police patrol.

“A SR 1 million will be offered to anyone who provides information that leads to the arrest of one of the suspects,” Mansour Al Turki, the interior ministry security spokesman, said. “The reward will be SR 5 million for information that leads to the arrest of more than one suspect and SR 7 million for a tip that would thwart a terrorist attack,” he said.

Al Turki on Wednesday warned that people who would deal with the wanted suspects would be held accountable.

“However, those who were in the past exploited by the suspects to provide them with services in the past should seize the opportunity of this statement to come forward and explain their situation on order to avoid legal and security consequences and charges of participating in acts of terrorism,” he said.

In a separate statement, the interior ministry said that Khalid Ayed Mohammad Al Whabi, a Saudi national, was the terrorist who blew himself up near Husain Mosque in the Anood district in Dammam, the Eastern Province largest city.

The ministry said that the four worshippers who were killed were Abdul Jalil Juma Taher Al Arbesh, Mohammd Juma Taher Al Arbash, Hadi Salman Eisa Al Hashem and Mohammad Hassan Ali Al Eisa.

“They gave through their bravery and sacrifice the best example that citizens are the first security people,” the ministry said. “In appreciation of their sacrifice, the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques has issued the order to extend to them the treatment accorded to martyrs and to grant them the medal of courage,” the ministry said.

Lab analysis revealed that the terrorist had used RDX in the powerful explosion.

Suspects named by the Ministry of Interior: Ebrahim Al Wazan, Ahmad Al Ghamdi, Bassam Al Yahya, Hassan Al Qahtani, Hassan Al Shamri, Saeed Al Rasheed, Sultan Al Shahri, Suwailem Al Rowaili, Abdul Rahman Al Shahri, Abdul Rahim Al Mutlaq, Abdul Hadi Al Qahtani, Faisal Al Zahrani, Mohsen Al Otaibi, Mohammad Al Anzi, Mohammad Al Zahrani and Hisham Al Khudair.

By Habib Toumi

© Al Nisr Publishing LLC 2022. All rights reserved.

You may also like


Sign up to our newsletter for exclusive updates and enhanced content